Kiana Ng Yoga

What are the chakras?

The chakras are spiritual energy centers within our bodies that run vertically up and down our spine. There are 7 of them with their colours corresponding to that of the rainbow. Each of these chakras has its own characteristics and its own unique way of connecting to the different aspects of our lives. Just like our physical bodies can get injured or out of balance, so can our chakras.

Click here to see which of your chakras is out of balance!

Root Chakra (Muladhara)

  • Colour: Red
  • Characteristics: grounding, stability, security, foundation, sense of self
  • Issues: roots, grounding, nourishment, trust, health, feeling at home, ability to provide for life’s necessities (financial/materialistic security), family safety and security, ability to stand up for self, prosperity, appropriate boundaries
  • Yoga Pose: Warrior II, or any standing/balancing poses

Sacral Chakra (Svadisthana)

  • Colour: Orange
  • Characteristics: sexuality, emotions, pleasure, movement
  • Issues: movement, sensation, emotions, sexuality, desire, need, pleasure, blame and guilt, money and sex, power and control, creativity, ethics and honour in relationships
  • Yoga Pose: Butterfly, or any hip-opening poses

Solar Plexus Chakra (Manipura)

  • Colour: Yellow
  • Characteristics: power, will, action
  • Issues: energy, activity, autonomy, individuation, will, self-esteem, proactivity, power, trust, personal honour, responsibility for making decisions, sensitivity to criticism
  • Yoga Pose: Half Lord of the Fishes, or any twisting or core-working poses

Heart Chakra (Anahata)

  • Colour: Green
  • Characteristics: love, relationships, compassion, forgiveness
  • Issues: love, balance, self-love, relationship, intimacy, devotion, reaching out and taking in, hope and trust, forgiveness and compassion
  • Yoga Pose: Camel, or any heart-opening (back bending) poses

Throat Chakra (Vishuddha)

  • Colour: Blue
  • Characteristics: communication
  • Issues: communication, creativity, listening, resonance, finding one’s own voice, faith and knowledge, judgement and criticism
  • Yoga Pose: Fish, or any throat-opening yoga poses

Third Eye Chakra (Ajna)

  • Colour: Indigo
  • Characteristics: intuition, imagination
  • Issues: image, intuition, imagination, visualization, insight, dreams, vision, self-evaluation, truth, openness to the ideas of others
  • Yoga Pose: Child’s Pose, or any poses that connect to the third eye

Crown Chakra (Sahasrara)

  • Colour: Violet or White
  • Characteristics: awareness
  • Issues: transcendence, immanence, belief systems, higher power, divinity, union, vision, ability to see the bigger picture, faith and inspiration, spirituality and devotion
  • Yoga Pose: Headstand or Seated Meditation

Pin It on Pinterest