Kiana Ng Yoga

There are 10 missing keys not taught that often in the Western world, called the yamas & niyamas or the ethical and moral codes of yoga. They are the first 2 limbs out of the 8 limbs of yoga that you’ll find in the yoga sutras of Patanjali. They come before asana or pranayama and are meant to be taken on and off the mat to fully live yoga. These missing keys could be just what you need to deepen your yoga practice (on & off your mat)!

The yamas are guidelines on what not to do when it involves yourself and the world/others in the world. They are self-regulating behaviours.

  1. Ahimsa: non-violence
  2. Satya: truthfulness
  3. Asteya: non-stealing
  4. Brahmacharya: non-excess or celibacy
  5. Aparigraha: non-possessiveness

The niyamas are things to do or observances that we undertake that relate to our inner world.

  1. Saucha: purity
  2. Santosha: contentment
  3. Tapas: self-discipline (restraining the senses)
  4. Svadhyaya: self-study
  5. Ishvara Pranidhana: surrender/devotion to a higher being

By practicing these, the mind and body will merge into and become one.

With love,



Pin It on Pinterest